Review: Smashbox BB Cream

Heya!!

I am back…again. And as promised, here is a review on Smashbox’s BB Cream.

Okay, right off the bat, I have to say that I love this BB Cream. It was the first BB Cream I ever tried and I will repurchase. I know hey, first BB Cream and I go high-end.

There are a few pitfalls that I did discover while using this BB Cream. But honestly, for all the other amazing stuff it does, I can make do with its cons.

As we all know, not every product will work wonders on everybody. I actually recently watched a review on this product on YouTube and the reviewer absolutely disliked the BB Cream. So different strokes for different folks. Here is my experience with the product.

What is a BB Cream

BB Creams have been all the hype recently, but they have been around for ages. The ‘BB’ stands for either Beauty Balm, Blemish Base or Blemish Balm. It was mainly sold in East and Southeast Asia before it boomed in the western cosmetics market. BB Creams are supposedly “all-in-one facial cosmetic product to replace serum, moisturizer, primer, foundation, and sunblock.

It can be worn alone, under your foundation or over any serums you use. The beginnings of BB Creams were first formulated in Germany by dermatologist Dr. Christine Schrammek, sometime in the 1960s.

Smashbox BB Cream

So below is a great image of the *Smashbox BB Cream and what it claims to do:

Smashbox

They have five shades available: Fair, Light, Light Medium, Medium and Dark. My shade is Dark.

What I liked about it…

The consistency of the BB Cream is really nice – not too runny but not too thick. There are some who may find it maybe a bit too watery, but I found the consistency to be ideal. It does have a bit of a smell but nothing that should put you off. The product also blends really well – I prefer to use my fingers with this product and not a foundation or stippling brush. I feel that using a brush doesn’t spread it out evenly. I guess you could try a buffing brush, it’ll probably do a better job. Or a sponge (which I don’t like because they tend to soak up more product than you actually use). But fingers work just fine.

A great plus for me is the fact that it actually does even out your skin tone…beautifully. I absolutely loved the way my over all complexion looked after applying the BB Cream. Of course, it offers light coverage (you can build it up to a medium coverage, but I find it looks overdone). So any really dark circles or hyperpigmentation and scars will be lightly covered but still visible. Use a good concealer to hide these if you have a problem with them peeking through (I suggest Bobbi Brown’s Corrector and Creamy Concealer – Bobbi SA; Bobbi USA).

Smashbox BB Cream

Smashbox BB Cream

The coverage it gives is a natural one with a slight hint of a dewy glow. If you are an oily one or one of combination skin, I would suggest you set it with a translucent powder or even a coloured powder if you choose. Or perhaps a finishing spray would also do the trick.

I love to wear this on it’s own (set with a powder if need be). I don’t apply any other foundation on top of it. I’m not really a fan of heavy full coverage makeup (unless it is absolutely necessary). So this product gives me the coverage I want, evens tone, it hydrates and with an incredible SPF 35, it protects. BONUS!

I didn’t find it greasy or sticky at all.

I didn’t like…

I did not like that it does not keep oil at bay. So, like I said, if you have an oily or combination skin type, set, set, set! But watch the area around your mouth (smile lines). When set with a powder, it tends to cake up in that area,  so set with caution (lol). The first few days I wore this BB Cream, I did not set it at all. By noon, my forehead (which is the oiliest place on my entire face) was just horribly oily. After setting however and using a fixing spray, the oiliness, finally, was under control.

Another thing I didn’t quite like is that fact that it is marketed as a “Camera Ready” BB Cream…meaning that even though it has such a high SPF in it, you won’t get that white flash back you usually get when you take pictures (with the flash) with sunscreen on. I find that although the white flashback isn’t very prominent in pictures, I still look a little ‘ghostly’. Not unnaturally so or vampire-like, but you can see that there is makeup on that face.

Having done a bit of research on BB Creams and the whole background of what they are and what they meant to do for the skin, I would have to agree with many that this is actually more of a tinted moisturiser than a BB Cream. Although that won’t make me like it less. 🙂

The product comes in a 30ml container and retails for R390 ($39.00). It is quite pricey.

If you live in the United States you can purchase the BB Cream online at Smashbox .

If you live in South Africa, you can click on the Smashbox South Africa Facebook page link and see which Edgars, Edgars Red Square, Woolworths and Foschini stores have it available:

http://www.facebook.com/notes/smashbox-south-africa/find-your-nearest-smashbox-counter/444614762268875

Please also note that some of these stores also stock Smashbox’s new CC Cream. The CC Cream also sells for R390.

CC Cream

* Pictures are from Smashbox.com

Leave a Reply

