DIY: Homemade Flavoured Water

Halfway through the week. Happy Wednesday.

Another health post. I thought I’d share with you some DIY flavoured water recipes, if you will. I figured that since the recommended daily intake of water is about eight glasses or two litres, it’s a bit drab having to gulp down plain water everyday, day after day. So why not spruse it up? And the really great thing about your own homemade flavoured water is that you can use any kind of fruit or herbs you like based on your preference and taste. It’s free of any of the sugar and preservatives you get in flavoured mineral waters, juices, bottled water and fizzy drinks; it is completely natural and oh so healthy and good for you.

My personal favourites that I love to make is my berries flavoured water and my lemon or lemon and cucumber flavoured water.

I like to drink my lemon/lemon and cucumber flavoured water first thing in the morning (which I prepare the night before) after I wake up and before my breakfast. It helps to wake up my system and cleanse it of toxins from the inside, preparing my body for the healthy and nutritious foods it will receive throughout the day. The berries flavoured water I will drink once or twice in the day – but not everyday. Pure water is still the way to go, but coupling it with some fruits and herbs sure makes it a lot easier to get down.

I prefer to use organic fresh fruits (if they are in season) instead of frozen fruits. But for every now and then, frozen fruit still do the trick. Especially when it comes to berries. You can try a variety of herbs (they do work well together and taste good). Mint would be an obvious option perhaps coupled with apple slices. You can also try basil, rosemary, sage, thyme or lavender. Experiment with the fruits and herbs. Start with small quantities of fruits and herbs especially if you are new to this. Once you get the hang of it, adjust accordingly. You don’t want to be put off by the strong flavour of the fruits or herbs in the water.

My Lemon and Cucumber water this morning

My Lemon and Cucumber water this morning

Lemon/lemon and cucumber flavoured water

It’s very simple. If you don’t have a water purifier, what you can do is boil your tap water first and give it a few minutes to cool off a bit. The warm water will help to extract the flavours out of the lemon and cucumber (so remember start with small quantities).

1. Cut a few slices of lemon (with or without the skin, your choice – I prefer to leave the skin on) and put into a pitcher, jug, glass whatever you like.

2. Cut a few slice of cucumber and add to the lemon.

3. OPTIONAL – if you like, you can add other citrus fruits such as oranges, lime or grapefruit. If you decide to do this, then I would suggest you cut one slice of each citrus fruit (including the lemon). The addition of other citrus fruits will up the Vitamin C content which is absolutely great for your skin and immune system

4. Add the water to the fruits. Stir it up a little and leave for while to let the flavours release.

5. Refrigerate and enjoy when cool

 

Berries flavoured water

  1. Pick out your favourites berries – raspberries, blueberries, mulberries and strawberries are the best in my opinion
  2. OPTIONAL – you can add a slice of lime to the berries
  3. Place the fruits into a jar, jug, pitcher or glass.
  4. Add water (I suggest if you use boiled water, let the water cool down completely otherwise your berries will go all mushy and sloppy)
  5. Refrigerate and enjoy when cool

Other flavours you can try (and I will too) are:

  • Pineapple and Mint
  • Blackberry and Sage
  • Watermelon and Rosemary

(courtesy: The Yummy Life)

Please note that these homemade flavoured waters can be refrigerated and kept for up to three days (make sure to pit a lid on them). And you may add ice to your water for those hot summer days.

Say goodbye to fizzy drinks and boxed juices. No more bottled water – flavoured or sparkling. Just clean, yummy and healthy homemade flavoured water with all natural ingredients. 🙂

Leave a Reply

