Breakfast Superfoods: A Healthy Start To The Day

Hey there!!

Happy Tuesday. I hope you all had a wonderful Monday and that the week ahead will be just too super.

Today’s blog post is all about health. In fact, I decided to blog about a certain health topic that is probably one of the most important of each and everyday: BREAKFAST!

Breakfast is such an essential part of your day and is of vital importance that you start off your day with a wholesome, healthy and nutritious breakfast EVERY SINGLE DAY. Many, many people tend to skip their breakfasts or are rather sporadic about consuming this first meal of the day. I used to be one of those people. I would eat breakfast at irregular intervals throughout the week. I was rather scattered about the whole thing. The worst was in high school when all you ever seem to do is study; write tests and exams; sleep; party; study some more; another party. I always thought to myself that I just don’t have the time and the amount of effort required was just a bother.

But over the recent years after high school and entering varsity, I realised how much of a disservice I was doing to my body. How much I was depriving my body of a great advantage to start the day. So I slowly got into the swing of it…eating breakfast every morning. And now it’s something that I just do. Second nature. But once you got that down, the trick is knowing which foods to eat at breakfast to get the most out of your meal.

  • “Breakfast provides the energy your body requires in order to perform activities. Therefore, you’re not so tired and can do more.
  • It kickstarts the body into producing the enzymes needed to metabolise fat, helping to shed the pounds.
  • Eating a good breakfast keeps you full for longer and may make you less likely to reach for snacks”

Fitness First

So here is a quick look, Thanks to Care For Living, at the foods that are great for breakfast and that will help you get the most out of your day:

Eggs

Eggs

Superfood 1: Eggs

Oh boy do I LOVE eggs. They are super! Packed with protein, vitamin B12, vitamin D, essential amino acids, antioxidants and selenium. A simple omelette or boiled or poached egg will provide you with plenty to start your day off on the right foot. It will also help keep you fuller for longer.

Superfood 2: Apples

Apples are said to be the epitome of health. This major superfood has been included in almost all of the “Top Healthy Foods” lists you can find. Apples are also one of the most filling and complete fruits out there. That’s all your fibre, vitamin C, potassium, and tons of antioxidants right there.

Superfood 3: Greek Yoghurt

I have heard so much about Greek yoghurt but I have never tried it. I usually just eat normal fat and sugar free plain yoghurt. But apparently

Apples

Apples

this yoghurt is just amazing – both ingested and applied as a facial mask. Greek yoghurt contains fewer salt, carbs and sugars than the regular yoghurt you find in the supermarket.  And also double the amount of protein. Great to add with a bunch of berries or other fruits. I will definitely be trying this.

Superfood 4: Blueberries

These little dark purple fruits are a serious health power punch. I am sure you have heard so much about them. I love them. They are amazing and so yummy and tasty. They too, alongside the apple, avocado and almonds, are on almost every health list available. They are packed with fibre, antioxidants, phytonutrients, and water. Just so yummy and nutritious. Excellent food to add with your oats in the morning.

Greek yoghurt

Greek yoghurt

I am sure there are many other breakfast superfoods that you can add onto the list. These four I mentioned are the ones that really got my attention because some are already my favourites; while others I will definitely be trying out.

Another favourite of mine is Rolled Oats and other fresh fruits. One thing to try that I actually saw at some point: someone added assorted nuts to their breakfast meal – almonds, cashews, Brazilian nuts, hazelnuts, walnuts, pecans…the lot. Obviously in the right proportions. So I tried it myself. Check out my Instagram photo on the left of the post.

 

Remember nuts do have a high fat content but are still super healthy when eaten right. They too are packed with protein.

I will definitely be trying this: mixed berries and mixed nuts in Greek yoghurt. Sounds delicious doesn’t it? Yum!

Blueberries

Blueberries

So, don’t skip your breakfast. In fact, you shouldn’t skip any meal of the day. But you always have to start right.

Besides, with such a variety of yummy fruits and other breakfasts foods to choose from, why wouldn’t you want to eat breakfast everyday?

Until the next post, remember to keep eating that breakfast every day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

