DIY: Facial Scrub…

Hey there!

Aaaaaand it’s FRIDAY! Whoop whoop!! I hope you all are doing fantastically well.

No blog post yesterday (sorry) but here is a beauty one today! This is an experiment I did last night. I have run out of my facial scrub which I thought would last me another two weeks or so. But no…I discovered it’s quite a problem when you have cousins come over for a visit during the school holidays and decide that your face mask will do great for a facial. And so I had to make a plan to get me a scrub that’ll keep me going for a few more weeks.

And here is what I came up with: a honey, oatmeal and grapefruit juice face scrub.

Honey, Oatmeal and Grapefruit homemade scrub

Honey, Oatmeal and Grapefruit homemade scrub

We all know (by now) the great benefits of honey for the skin. So it was obvious that I was going to use this yummy ingredient in my scrub. Then I needed an ingredient that would be the ‘granules’ in the scrub. So I added organic and unrefined sugar. However, the one we had at home was much too fine and when I tested out the finished product (finished at this point), it felt like I was just rubbing pure raw honey on my skin. So I thought to myself, let me add the oatmeal flakes. I have seen that they usually do add oatmeal in many scrubs as well as in face masks. And so into the mixture it went. Boom! Perfect scrub created. Or so I thought.

The consistency was now way too thick and so difficult to spread across the face. I needed something to thin it out a tad. But something that would also be beneficial to my skin. I had recently read so much about the benefits of Vitamin C for the skin. As it is already, I eat a lot of citrus fruits so I thought to myself, what if I added the juice of one of them into the scrub. Would it really help to apply it topically? There was only one way to find out. So I juiced half a grapefruit and poured it into the scrub until the consistency was manageable and would be able to spread (the rest of the grapefruit juice I just drank up :-)).

Just in case you were wondering, vitamin c is a great antioxidant that helps to slow the rate of free-radical damage. Free-radicals are those nasty buggers that damage the collagen in our skin and cause skin dryness, fine lines and wrinkles. And according to research, it also “plays a critical role in hydroxylation reactions that are essential for the formation of collagen“. Click here to read more about vitamin c and how it helps to form the collagen in our skin.

You can’t pick up on the grapefruit at all – the scrub just smells like pure honey. I am going to give it a full try out tonight. I’m actually quite excited to see what results it will produce after using it for a while.

Scrub 2

Raw Honey

Raw Honey

My homemade scrub...looks like cooked oats. Lol

My homemade scrub…looks like cooked oats. Lol

Grapefruit

Grapefruit

Until the next post…take care! 🙂

4 thoughts on “DIY: Facial Scrub…

Leave a Reply

