Overall Impressions: AVON Eight-in-One Colour Palette and Glimmerstick

Firstly let me start by saying I had a lot of fun playing around with different looks and experimenting with these fabulous colours. And the fact that they are metallic colours and therefore lend themselves to a night look as opposed to day, I had licence to go a little crazy on the creative side as I did with my second look (the peacock).

The quality is impressive and the colours are beautiful and visible. And add to that the affordability factor. Packed in a sleek and shiny black case with eight eye shadow colours, the product looks chic and is easy to open.

The eight flattering colours: black, silver, mauve, brown, blue, gold, turquoise and peach. My favourites are the black and the brown…I create such a beautiful smoky eye with these two colours, I do it as often as I can. Each is highly blendable and they last on the eye lid (although I would still recommend you use an eye primer prior to application of the shadows).

The shadows have a beautiful shimmery finish that compliment a dewy/glowy skin – and still don’t give that look of being shiny or too glittery. The colour just goes on with ease and I usually don’t have to re-apply it throughout the night (used with a lid primer).

The only thing I didn’t like about it was the provided applicators. I found that they were too small for certain techniques I employed or that they didn’t blend well enough. I opted to use my own eye brushes instead and the result was beautifully enhanced eyes every time.

The Glimmerstick Eyeliner: Blackest black which is exactly how I like my eyeliner. I am not really one for going all wild with different coloured eyeliners – I simply stick to the idea that with all the coloured eye shadow, I certainly don’t need coloured eyeliner too.

This Glimmerstick is by far the best eyeliner I have ever used – no exaggeration.  It is creamy but lasts for the better part of the day. It has rich colour – I mean, the black is seriously black and you can see it. It’s vibrant. I love that, Again, like the eye shadow, no need for re-application unless of course you are going for the Taylor Momsen racoon look.
Oh…and that it’s not a pencil eyeliner that needs to be sharpened was a great bonus for me!

The problem I had with the Glimmerstick though is that the tip after use becomes rounded…so if you are looking to draw on a fine line, you’d have to hold the pen at an angle to create a thinner line. And although it’s staying power is impressive for the bigger chunk of the day, it does tend to smudge a tad especially at the outer corner of the eye if you are one that loves the cat eye like I do.

One thought on “Overall Impressions: AVON Eight-in-One Colour Palette and Glimmerstick

  1. Pingback: Avon GLIMMERSTICKS Eye Liner Blackest Black | MedPlus4all.COM

Leave a Reply

